The end of my 4 day stretch of work got to me and left me a bit crabby with one co worker.

The end of my 4 day stretch of work got to me and left me a bit crabby with one co worker.

There are 17 nurses plus 2 invaluable support people in my department.  All of the “cast members” are note worthy at times, but the major players are note worthy daily.

The Alpha Nurse is on constant vigil.  She is like a spider that suddenly drops down from the ceiling and bounces slightly in front of your face looking you right in the eye. “Is that your monitor beeping? “  She asks with her husky deep voice and her steady gaze.  We work in a fishbowl.  There is very little privacy. It is a large open space with bays separated by thin curtains.  Heaven help the nurse that does not look busy or has a monitor beeping.   Before you know it Alpha Nurse will have you fetching ice bags or fluffing her patient’s pillow or preparing to do CPR on your patient with a monitor lead that slipped off.

I wonder if Florence Nightingale was an Alpha Nurse.

About florencewannabe

I'm a registered nurse trying to work 1000 hours in 2014 to earn my pension. Currently, May 28,2014, I'm 455.5 hours into my goal. I have until Dec. 31, 2014 to get 544.5 hours of work. The catch is that I work per Diem and I don't have any guaranteed time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The end of my 4 day stretch of work got to me and left me a bit crabby with one co worker.

  1. Amy says:

    watch out for the alpha nurse! don’t get bit by the spider!

    Like

Leave a Reply

