National Donut Day

Did you know today was National Donut day?   What could that possibly have to do with nursing?

It’s Friday and Friday’s are notorious for starting off slow and picking up speed.  It was 4:45 pm and I was pooped de dooped from working 32 hours.   However it was time for one of my co workers to go home and I would take over her patient.  I was thinking of myself and how tired I felt and how much I wanted this day to end.  It was sunny and warm outside and I pictured myself sitting on my deck with a nice glass of wine in my hands.  Instead I had a whiny voice in my head saying please let this be over soon so I can go home.

The patient was in her early 50’s with breast cancer.  Only peach fuzz was left where her hair had been.  Her eyes looked puffy and her voice deepened from years of smoking. She looked so buzzed from the pain medicine that I didn’t think she was even listening to the nurse giving me report, but she was listening.  She corrected the report a couple of times.   I thought to myself this person has moxie…she is sticking up for herself even though she’s so weak she can barely lift her head off the pillow.

She’s ready to go home.  I take her IV out and unhook her from the monitor.   We read the directions on the brand new post op bra.  We like the bra….it’s tight, but not bad looking and the color is good.  It has built in pockets for extra umph if desired.  We don’t use them, but it’s a nice option.  The ride home is called.  The patient tells me her ride home is a bit ditsy, but no matter as long as she brings the coffee.   During the day another patient tells me that it is National Donut Day, one per person with the purchase of a drink.  I relay this information to my current patient.  We discuss ways to outsmart the donut place by going back a couple of times.  Various disguises will be needed…..dark sun glasses, wigs.

The patient is waiting inside watching me chase down the ditsy driver…. flagging her to the discharge door.  Mission accomplished.  I go back inside and retrieve the wheel chair holding my patient.  I open the door to the car and I notice a bag.  I say to the driver, “hmmmm….is there something in that bag?”   The driver responds, “Oh yes, that’s coffee.  And those are donuts….they were giving out free donuts today!”    I yell, “BINGO. ”  All hell breaks loose and the patient starts laughing as she grabs the coffee and reaches for the free donut.  She makes my day all worth while.  I am happy that I met her….she was much more than her diagnosis.

TIDBIT…..I don’t know when donuts were first discovered, but I hope Florence had her own National Donut day experience.

About florencewannabe

I'm a registered nurse trying to work 1000 hours in 2014 to earn my pension. Currently, May 28,2014, I'm 455.5 hours into my goal. I have until Dec. 31, 2014 to get 544.5 hours of work. The catch is that I work per Diem and I don't have any guaranteed time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

