The Hair on the Back of My Neck Went Up….

There were hundreds , maybe thousands, of tiny glistening flesh colored bumps in the patients stomach.   The hair on the back of my neck went up. This is something bad I’m looking at.  It’s not supposed to be there.  They covered the lining of the stomach like a carpet.  Were they moving?  Growing? Was it catching?  My skin began to crawl.  I scoured the written report…staring at the pictures.

Otherwise healthy people can have this syndrome.   This particular patient took no medications.  I had never seen it before….the doctor had never seen it before.   Nearly 100% of people , with (FAP) Familial Adneomatous Polyposis, will get cancer of the colon.  Although benign in the stomach eventually the polyps will spread to the colon and become cancerous.  The dramatic treatment is to remove the colon. The average life expectancy is age 42 if not treated.  Children as young 11 have had already had the surgery.  People will live to a ripe old age if treated unless something else gets them….

Genetic and Rare: 1 in 22,000.

Signs and Symptoms:  change in bowel, unexplained weight loss, abdominal pain, bleeding from rectum, or low blood counts due to bleeding from polyps.

TIDBIT:  The first case of FAP was noted in 1859.  Florence would have been 39 years old.

 

 

About florencewannabe

I'm a registered nurse trying to work 1000 hours in 2014 to earn my pension. Currently, May 28,2014, I'm 455.5 hours into my goal. I have until Dec. 31, 2014 to get 544.5 hours of work. The catch is that I work per Diem and I don't have any guaranteed time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Hair on the Back of My Neck Went Up….

  1. amy says:

    that’s terrible.

    Like

Leave a Reply

