A Smidgen of Call

imagesphones (2)

I’m on call today from 12 pm to 4 pm.  No big deal.  I offered to do it for another nurse because I want to practice.  Just in case I take the job.  I called in this late this morning to see if anything was cooking.  One of the PACU nurses answered.  That meant they had been “called in”.   However they were finishing up and would be gone before noon.  I am not needed……YET.   There were no other surgical cases waiting in the wings (ER) either.  I am up to bat now though!  I’m staying in the house close to the phone.    The land line.  I’m watching it.   I don’t think it’s going to ring.

What is the protocol for call?  If  “called in” during the daytime hours 8 am to 11 pm I assume I will be showered and ready to go.  I have to be in the hospital within 30 minutes. It takes me almost 30 minutes to get there.  If the beeper goes off in the middle of the night and I’m in my jammies, in bed, asleep do I throw cold water on my face…..jump into scrubs and drive to the hospital?  Should I brush my teeth?  Comb my hair?  Put make up on?  Do I drink coffee?  Will I have time for coffee?    What if I’ve been asleep for 1 hour? What if I’m in REM sleep?  What if I can’t sleep because one eye is on the clock?  What about c-sections?  Lord knows women have babies at absolutely any time natures says go.  Why can’t maternity recover their own patients?   I’m bound to get called in for a c-section in the middle of the night.

The here and now……3:50 pm:  no ringy- dingies.  I’m off the hook.  It wasn’t a true test.   4 hours….I mean really.    A smidgen of call.

TIDBIT  Alexander Graham Bell invented the telephone February 14, 1876.  There was a little controversy over who actually discovered it, but Bell got the patent.   Florence certainly could have used a telephone since it was developed during her era.  It appeared letters were a common way for her to communicate.   

phone3

 

About florencewannabe

I'm a registered nurse trying to work 1000 hours in 2014 to earn my pension. Currently, May 28,2014, I'm 455.5 hours into my goal. I have until Dec. 31, 2014 to get 544.5 hours of work. The catch is that I work per Diem and I don't have any guaranteed time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

