Twiddling My Thumbs

twiddling-thumbs-illo

 

I’m on call right now.  Right this minute.  I’m showered, dressed, stethoscope and badge in my purse.  I’m ready to roll.  No beeper.  The  hospital will contact me via my land line or cell phone.  The phone has wrung twice.  My heart did a little flutter each time.  Not the hospital either time.  Whewwwwwww.   I ate dinner early just in case.  I wouldn’t want to go running to the hospital with hunger pangs.  No way Jose.  Waiting.  I’ll watch TV or read. I have 2.5 hours left of call time tonight. Twiddling my thumbs.

 

TIDBIT                              Definition of ON CALL

Employees must be ready to return to work at a moment’s notice while on call. Workers are usually prohibited from engaging in activities that impair their ability to perform job duties, such as alcohol or drug use. Hospitals may require doctors or nurses to remain within a certain distance of the facility or obtain permission to leave the premises while on call. Workers must also keep lines of communication open during on-call periods in case their employer attempts to make contact.

About florencewannabe

I'm a registered nurse trying to work 1000 hours in 2014 to earn my pension. Currently, May 28,2014, I'm 455.5 hours into my goal. I have until Dec. 31, 2014 to get 544.5 hours of work. The catch is that I work per Diem and I don't have any guaranteed time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Twiddling My Thumbs

  1. Marlaine Lerz says:

    Hi Patti..I am enjoying your witty, funny blogs! hey, you are almost there…Do you think you will take the CALL job? Sounds stressful to me..the waiting and wondering and then anticipating what you will find when you get there..Hope you and John are doing well? take care and I will keep reading your blogs. I hope you survive the next 107 hrs! I can relate as I had to have the 10 years full time to qualify for the state retirement..I am glad I did it but I was ready to retire towards the end! Xo Marlaine

    Like

Leave a Reply

