Panties in a Wad

cracked   My iPad screen crackedcutie pies blue and pink.   Ugh.  There was a sneaking suspicion that the Cutie Pies had something to do with it.     Mother of Cutie Pies offered to buy me a new one.  At first I said noooo….noooo….no.     For crying out loud!  What kind of mother am I!  Then my iPad started to act strange and the crack in the glass seemed to be growing.  I changed my tune and said YES!  Thank you!  Now I can’t get it soon enough!

Off to the store!applestores

Talking with the prepubescent-looking  sales person it all seemed easy enough. I jotted down some notes.   Clear enough.  Until I got home and tried to do it.  I looked at my notes that mysteriously changed into unreadable chicken scratch.  What?  First connect old iPad to computer.  Done.  Then find iTunes.  Cannot find iTunes.  Load iTunes onto computer.  No one mentioned this part.  Select MY iPad from the little icon.  What icon?  No icon here!  After a few minutes I gave up on finding that icon and just started to press buttons.  Thinking to myself….piece of cake.  I don’t need no stinking notes or icons! After a few hours I decided I was in need of help.

boywithipad

I called Tim-the-too-young-to-be-working-youngster from the store, “hello Tim it’s me!  I just bought an iPad from you!”  Silence.   “Remember me?”  Silence.  “I’m having a little trouble getting the new iPad running,”  I say in a pleading REMEMBER ME voice.

“Oh yeah.  How  ya doing?”  he says.

“I need some help.  YOU told me I could call you for help.”  I remind him.  I added that I tried such and such and this and that to no avail.

“No problem.  Did you connect old iPad to PC and then press blah blah blah….?”  he asked.

I answered, “yes.”

He continued,  “Ok.  Turn the computer off and wait 30 seconds and do it all again.”

You get the picture…..right?  A technical nightmare unfolding.

After several hours and additional assistance it appeared to be up and running. Information from old iPad was on the new iPad!  Yippeee!  There was a slight glitch though.   All contact information from our PC had disappeared.  There was some kind of CLOUD message popping up all over the place.  The CLOUD was demanding a password and threatening to ERASE everything on the PC if I deleted IT!  What the hey is the CLOUD??  Things were transferred alright!  Into oblivion!  On some Cloud up there somewhere.

heavenly clouds

I will not get my panties in a wad over over this.  I decided to ignore the CLOUD issue.  My plan was to watch the movie that I accidentally (another story) bought  and downloaded onto my old iPad which was now transferred to my new iPad.  Pulling the TV out a little to connect a cord which Tim told me I would need to watch stuff off the iPad.  Thanks Tim. Another cord popped off the circuit board on the back of the TV.  uh oh.  Now to watch my movie from the iPad on the TV was costing me a zillion dollars!

Purchasing a new iPad is easy- peasy.    NOT!!

About florencewannabe

I'm a registered nurse trying to work 1000 hours in 2014 to earn my pension. Currently, May 28,2014, I'm 455.5 hours into my goal. I have until Dec. 31, 2014 to get 544.5 hours of work. The catch is that I work per Diem and I don't have any guaranteed time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

